Student Scholars Honored at Art History Research Fellowship Awards Ceremony

Congratulations to the 2022 Art History Research Fellowship scholarship and award winners from five New York City public schools! Eight high school students selected to receive this year’s awards, along with 30 program participants, were recognized in a special ceremony held at the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) on May 24 to celebrate their accomplishment. 

Students participating in the 2022 Art History Research Fellowship program.

After welcoming attendees to MoMA, Lisa Mazzola, Assistant Director, School and Teacher Programs, turned over the program to Karen Rosner, Director of Visual Arts, Office of Arts and Special Projects, NYC Department of Education, and Thomas Cahill, President of Studio Institute. Selected students provided brief presentations of their work.

On hand to honor the student scholars were art teachers: Marne Meisel from Brooklyn High School of the Arts; Joyce Riley from Fiorello H. LaGuardia High School of Music & Art and Performing Arts; Sacha Twarog from Frank Sinatra School of the Arts; James Harrington from the High School of Art and Design; and Kelly Trpic-Rukavina from Scholars’ Academy.

Developed by Ms. Rosner, the Art History Fellows Research project engages students in inquiry-based research that grows out of their genuine curiosity about an artist, an artwork, an art movement, or a socio-political issue around art. Students are guided by their art teachers throughout the process that includes research, writing, and documentation.

According Ms. Rosner, “The results speak to both the dedication and perseverance of both students and teachers. The project encourages and honors all student voices and is excellent preparation for college.”

Studio Institute’s Arts Intern Program, now in its 23rd year, is delighted to sponsor the Art History Research Fellowship program offered by the New York City Department of Education, and support students interested in pursuing arts careers. Arts Intern provides college students with financial need who are interested in the art and museum field with early-career opportunities through paid internships in cultural institutions.

Kudos to the 2022 Art History Research Fellowship Award and Scholarship Recipients:

Elena Lindeman, Agnes Gund Excellence in Art History Research Scholarship
Daniela Font, Edward P. Harding Excellence in Art History Research Scholarship
Bassie Chin, Paul L. King Excellence in Art History Research Scholarship
Richard Nguyen, Richard and Rona Roob Award for Art History Research
Ratatosk Clarke, Roy and Edith Simpson Award for Art History Research
Sasha Heeralall, Dorothy Lichtenstein Award for Art History Research
Anjali Ramdin, Dong Kingman Award for Art History Research
Grace Espinosa, Dr. Vivian Pan Award for Art History Research